Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Make Math Moments Academy Forums Community Discussion Water Cooler Shifting Teacher Practice

• Shifting Teacher Practice

Posted by Megan Kitt on May 15, 2019 at 4:04 pm

Last year, myself and the other district academic coaches delivered professional learning to all K-6th teachers centered around building procedural fluency from the foundation of conceptual understanding. While the sessions were well-received, the lack of classroom implementation is beyond frustrating. How do we shift an entire district from teacher-centered direct instruction to student-centered problem based discovery?

Carla Novreske replied 3 years, 2 months ago 4 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • George Garza

May 15, 2019 at 6:24 pm

I can’t speak to your particular situation, as I’m just a starting math teacher, but I am struck by how similar your comment sounds to math teachers being frustrated when their students won’t even try a problem after a well done lesson.  I’m a firm believer that people are people, and so teachers are just teenagers with more experience.  When students don’t participate, it is likely because they don’t feel safe academically and knowledgeable enough to try.

Might it be an issue that the teachers don’t feel like they can take the risk of implementing conceptual teaching?  Might the teachers be unclear what the conceptual classroom might look like for them as they implement it?  Have you asked them why they haven’t implemented it?

For myself, I’ve immersed myself in as much research, advice and pedagogy as I can on the topic of inquiry learning, but I’m still unsure exactly what it looks like.  It makes me very nervous about implementing it when I start teaching in the fall.  I’m still planning on doing it, because I believe so strongly in the benefits, but I’ll be honest, it’s quiet scary, especially since I’m a new teacher.