Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Make Math Moments Academy Forums Community Discussion Introduce Yourself New Member: Shawn from Seattle (area), WA, USA

• New Member: Shawn from Seattle (area), WA, USA

Posted by Shawn Seeley on January 17, 2020 at 8:32 pm

Hello!

My name is Shawn, I am a fourth grade teacher in the Tahoma School District in Maple Valley, WA. I am in my fourth year of teaching and my wife is in her second year of teaching (she teaches third grade in a neighboring district). Recently, a fellow teacher and I teamed up, allowing me to teach math for both of our classes, while he teaches reading. In addition to my standard teaching duties, I am also on my union executive board and bargaining team, and I am my grade-level math lead for my building. 

Teaching is not my first profession. After high school, I enlisted in the United States Marine Corps and was a machine gunner who experienced combat in Ramadi, Iraq in 2005. I was injued as a result of multiple IED explosions months after I turned 19, and was retired from active duty at the age of 20.

After retirement, I went to school for web design and database programming (PHP, MySQL, Java, C#, etc.) and enjoyed it for a time, but felt that I should be doing something more. I got my BA in pastoral ministry and biblical literature and was a youth pastor for several years, eventually transitioning into teaching after obtaining my MEd. As an interesting side note, my current principal was my fourth grade teacher!