Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

• Mixing it Up

Posted by Alysha Coates on April 13, 2020 at 4:11 pm

I’ve been teaching for 6 years, and in those 6 years, moved to six different communities and taught 6 different grades. It has been very difficult to step outside the “textbook lesson” and develop a strong sense of teaching math outside the traditional whole class lesson. I’ve tried small groups, but not consistently, or to my knowledge effectively. My big question, is how can I develop a math pedagogy that allows me to have a more engaging and hands-on learning that is not grade specific, but will provide me with skills that move beyond one grade/school.

Beginning to navigate these water cooler discussions is a challenge for me. Sometimes I feel lost – there are some math things I have not heard of – and so many resources that I’m working on choosing somethere to begin. Starting small and then entering the larger conversation. I would like to focus my learning on answering my big question, and by takin g my time to explore one next concept at a time.

Jon replied 2 years, 5 months ago 3 Members · 2 Replies
  • 2 Replies
  • Cheris South

April 14, 2020 at 9:47 pm

Hello Alysha,