Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

Make Math Moments Academy Forums Mini-Course Reflections Assessment For Growth Lesson 3.2: What Video Games Can Teach Us about Grading? – Discussion

• Sean Breen

December 19, 2020 at 9:51 pm

I love this. I began teaching Math(s) this year and, because of the nature of the school year, I was not expected to grade in the established way…so I didn’t. A few years ago I studied Dynamic Systems Theory with Kurt Fischer at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. Your model of linear v non-linear comes close to DST. However, I must say that the Candyland like path model does not appeal to me because of its linearity. Might a student show mastery of goal 4 without demonstrating the same level in goal 3? We need to think of learning as 3 dimensional…a web…lots of ways to climb the hill…some dead ends along the way… Before school resumes in January I must try to create a reporting mechanism that meets my needs.

• This reply was modified 1 year, 9 months ago by  Sean Breen.
    • Kyle Pearce

Administrator
      December 20, 2020 at 7:43 am

Great perspective and you’re right – learning definitely isn’t linear. In mathematics, there are times where achieving one goal is pretty depended on another, however there are many instances where that isn’t the case. Great points.

• Christopher Ernst

April 1, 2021 at 12:40 pm

That’s a great point about the linear vs non-linear connections between LGs. I’m wondering from Kyle, or @ajinsf for those connected LGs, can a demonstration of understanding on a higher goal be used as evidence of a lower connected LG?

• Jaana Gray

January 14, 2021 at 4:38 pm

What a great comparison and a way of thinking. Very exciting to see how I can formalise the student’s improvement and growth into a visual grading system.

• Jon

Administrator
      January 15, 2021 at 6:07 am

@jaana.gray I’m looking forward to hearing about your progress!

• Christopher Ernst