Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our
community around the world.

• Hello from Kentucky!

Posted by Katrina Lowe on July 14, 2021 at 1:59 pm

My name is Katrina, and I am a special education teacher co-teaching math at the high school level. I have been teaching special education for 34 years at the same high school; however, no two years have ever been the same. I have been co-teaching math exclusively at my high school for the past 8 years and will be again this coming year. I have been teaching Algebra II, Algebra III, and geometry; however, I am not sure exactly what subjects I will be teaching this year due to some curriculum changes at our school.

I saw Jon and Kyle’s presentation at the Beyond Math virtual conference and wanted to dig deeper into what they were talking about. I have been increasingly unhappy with how instruction in my co-taught classes has been going. Kids aren’t really making progress and they only seem to want help on test day. There has to be a better way. This summer I am reading through Building Thinking Classrooms in Mathematics, and I really want to be a catalyst for change in our mathematics department. I want my students doing more thinking!

Katrina Lowe replied 1 year, 2 months ago 2 Members · 4 Replies
  • 4 Replies
  • Jon

Administrator
    July 16, 2021 at 5:51 am

Welcome @katrina.lowe what would you say is your current pebble in your shoe going into next year?

• Katrina Lowe

July 17, 2021 at 2:24 pm